Olfactory families

The categorization of perfumes within olfactory families allows a classification according to key olfactory characteristics and scent notes. A consistent classification is not always possible due to the complexity of fragrances as well as the emergence of new fragrance trends. Thus perfumes can embrace aspects of various olfactory families.

The simplest categorization of feminine fragrances is to subdivide the olfactory families into 4 different categories: citrus, chypre, oriental and floral. 

 

Citrus or hesperidic fragrances

Citrus notes can be found in almost all head notes. They are fresh, lively and evaporate quickly. Fragrances within this category are made of lemon, orange, bergamot, grapefruit or tangerine essences. Often these scents are combined with other ingredients gained from orange trees like orange blossom, petitgrain or neroli. This segment experienced its heyday for a long time with "Eaux de Cologne" perfumes. One of the most famous citrus perfumes is CK one by Calvin Klein.

Chypre fragrances

Chypre perfumes comprise accords of oakmoss, labdanum ciste, patchouli and bergamot (ingredients that were to be found on the island of Cyprus - therefore the name Chypre). They are long lasting, classic-elegant and intensive fragrances with a high recognition degree. Chypre essences are often combined with floral or fruity notes

Oriental fragrances

Fragrances of this category are opulent, sensual, warm and sometimes powdery. Typical substances for oriental compositions are balsamic resins, precious woods, animalic essences, musk and vanilla. Frequently, these scents are enlightened with exotic spices or florals.

Floral fragrances

Floral perfumes are the largest olfactory family. They can be composed of different harmonically combined flowers and floral accords. These fragrances are called floral bouquets.
In order to convey a subtle freshness to floral fragrances fruity, green, spicy ingredients or aldehydes can be added.

Duftfamilien

Die Kategorisierung der einzelnen Düfte in Duftfamilien ermöglicht die Zuordnung eines Duftes aufgrund dessen Charakter und Duftnoten. Eine einheitliche Zuordnung ist durch die komplexe Zusammensetzung der Düfte, neuer Duftrichtungen und neu aufkommenden Dufttrends nicht immer möglich.

Die einfachste Kategorisierung der Damendüfte ist, diese in vier Duftfamilien zu unterteilen: Zitrus, Chypre, Orientalisch und Blumig. Oft werden die Hauptkategorien in Unterkategorien unterteilt bzw. ergänzt, um den Duft präziser zu beschreiben.

 

Zitrus Düfte

Zitrusnoten befinden sich in fast allen Kopfnoten. Sie sind frisch, leicht und verflüchtigen sich schnell. Düfte in dieser Kategorie basieren auf Essenzen der Zitrone, Orange, Bergamotte, Grapefruit oder Mandarine, die mit anderen Ingredienzien des Orangenbaums wie Orangenblüten, Petitgrain oder Neroli kombiniert werden können. Lange Zeit erlebte dieses Segment ihre Blüte mit den "Eaux de Cologne". Einer der bekanntesten Zitrus Düfte ist CK one von Calvin Klein. 

Chypre Düfte

Chypre Parfums setzten sich aus Akkorden von Eichenmoos, Zistrose-Labdanum, Patchuli und Bergamotte zusammen. Sie sind klassisch-elegant, intensiv, halten lange an und haben einen hohen Wiedererkennungswert. Chypre Noten werden gerne mit blumigen oder fruchtigen Noten kombiniert und aufgelockert.

Orientalische Düfte

Parfums dieser Duftfamilie sind opulent, sinnlich, warm und oftmals pudrig. Typische Ingredienzien sind balsamische Harze, edle Hölzer, Moschus und Vanille. Oft werden diese Duftnoten mit exotischen Gewürzen oder Blumen kombiniert.

Blumige (florale) Düfte

Blumige Düfte bilden die größte Duftfamilie. Parfums können aus mehreren, harmonisch aufeinander abgestimmten Blumen- & Blütenakkorden komponiert sein, man spricht dann von einem Blumenbouquet. Blumigen Düften werden oft fruchtige, grüne, würzige Ingredienzien oder Aldehyde hinzugefügt, um dem Duft eine zarte Frische zu verleihen.